Re: Back pains

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Rick Denney on April 09, 2001 at 12:48:02:

In Reply to: Back pains posted by Steve on April 08, 2001 at 21:27:42:

Been there, done that.

I'm having difficulties myself at the present, similar but not nearly as bad as a six-month period of severe pain radiating down my right leg about ten years ago. Here were the causes:

Overweight (I tend in the pot-belly direction). This was a problem 10 years ago, but not now (or, at least, about 65 pounds less of a problem). Consider this an exacerbating factor if it applies.

Congenital. I have a touch of spondylolisthesis, which is a forward displacement of the 5th lumbar vertebra. This is part of the reason I've always looked like I had a pot-belly, even when I'm not overweight. This is also not a real cause, but a factor.

Eye problem. I have a muscle imbalance in my eyes that makes is easier to see when I look to the right and when my head is tilted a little to the left. The tilted head throws my whole body out of balance--shoulder tilt right and hips tilt left. This is probably the real cause for me, but there ain't nothing I can do 'bout it.

Tight hamstrings. This keeps your back from assuming its proper arch, especially when you sit. The damage may be caused when you sit, but the pain may not be there unless you are standing. Again, a contributing factor.