Re: BAT Brass Quintet Test

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Todd Morgan on April 23, 2003 at 20:57:54:

In Reply to: BAT Brass Quintet Test posted by Rick Denney on April 23, 2003 at 14:40:33:

Hi Rick,

When I was in college for my bachelor's degree, I attended Ithaca College, where I studied with David Unland. Dave is the proud owner of a York Master CC, a 6/4 York "Rusk cut", and 2 F tubas (Rudy and Yamaha 822). Dave has the sound that I try to emulate when ever I play. His sound can be described as lush, colorful, dark, round, resonant, etc. After getting his 6/4 York he has consistently played it in the IC brass quintet. The results have been beautiful. The group has a wonderfully big and rich sound and Dave's playing produces a very lush bottom. The only time I recall him playing a F in quintet was when they performed a contemporary piece that was mostly in the higher range of the tuba. I believe the piece went up to a G above the staff. No matter what horn he is playing on, he has this rich resonant sound. I believe (I could be wrong) Dave likes playing on a CC for everything, unless it just makes more sense (because of range, style, genre, etc) to switch to F. So, what is my point? Well...Dave likes to use a CC for just about everything, from baroque to jazz to whatever comes his way and he sounds awesome doing it.