Re: Inter-locken

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Joe -a lot of info here- S. on February 11, 2001 at 14:21:31:

In Reply to: Inter-locken posted by curious george on February 11, 2001 at 01:51:48:

I have some experience attending as a student and paying for it as a dad...both the camp and the school.

As to the summer CAMP, I think for the high school level (age 15 and over?) there are two orchestras and two bands. The top orchestra (pretty well-known world-wide) is the World Youth Symphony Orchestra, and the second orchestra (probably as good or better than many high school summer festival orchestras) is the High School Concert Orchestra. I know that there is also one - possibly/probably two - large concert bands.

For ensemble seating, one auditions on the Sunday before the camp gets rollin', so for the purpose of acclimation, rest, last minute practice, etc., one might wish to arrive on Friday or early on Saturday. Auditions are held by the private studio teachers on the respective instruments, I think.

On your formidable application, there is a very large section to apply for financial aid. The more in need of financial assistance your parents are, the better you play, and the more that Interlochen needs people who play your instrument, the more financial aid they will offer you. The Interlochen Center for the Arts is LOADED with scholarship money, but they don't pass it out like candy. - They try to spend it as "wisely" (in their view, obviously) as possible.

Also, one for each state, are the Emerson "Governor's" Scholar Awards, which pay full tuition (again, one awarded per state).