Re: Band Directors - how to get there?

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Jon Meyer on February 09, 2004 at 08:34:42:

In Reply to: Band Directors - how to get there? posted by Kenneth Sloan on February 08, 2004 at 22:09:40:

I am a band director in Cincinnati, Ohio and I must confess I do not have a Music Ed. degree. My degree is in music performance. However, I took the private school route and am able to work on what is called (in Ohio at least) a non-tax certificate.

As far as my advice, maybe I am missing something here, but I would try to go to a school with an above average band director who is also an above average conducting teacher (i.e. Northwestern/Dr. Thompson).

Having a fine college marching band is not necessarily a drawback. Sometimes, having that distraction during the year can be a problem. However, if your son has the fortunate position of not having to work over the summer, he can learn all of the marching info ever needed while marching several summers with a top-notch DCI corps.

As far as the masters containing the teaching composnent, that is very do-able. Al you have to do is find out the licensing/certification requirements in the state that he is being educated, and contact the schools regarding a masters in X (performance? conducting?)with the license/certificate requirements added on. For instance, Xavier University in Cincinnati offers a Masters in Music Ed. with integrated licensure. Not a bad combo.

I personally am glad that I was able to concentrate on playing during my undergrad. I also was very fortunate to have had a great wind ensemble director (Mark Babbitt, now at Central Washington, who is also a KICKA$$ trombone player) who I took indepentdant studies with on conducting and wind ensemble history. If he wans to go back to WA, I strongly suggest Central Washington University with Mark Babbitt (if he is still there then). I have included a link below.