Re: Re: Re: Re: cryogenic tuba freezing

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Rick Denney on February 02, 2001 at 11:41:29:

In Reply to: Re: Re: Re: cryogenic tuba freezing posted by Cryotuba on February 02, 2001 at 01:23:48:

With all due respect, I am an engineer and scientist and therefore a great believer in cause and effect. There are two ways to approach science. One is to formulate a model based on a clear understanding of cause and effect, and design according to that model with careful testing along the way to make sure the model considers all factors. The other way is to just try things and measure the results. You are advocating the second approach. For it to work, you have to rigorously control for other effects, especially if your subjective response to the horn is the effect being measured. A scientific approach that could lead to general advice (i.e. "All tuba freezing is good") would require a study where a number of identical instruments would be play tested, and found, through statistical analysis, to be identical. Then, some of the instruments would be frozen, and others not. Then, the testers would play all the horns and rate them on criteria hypothetically affected and not affected by freezing, without any knowledge of which horn was frozen and which not or which test is relevant and which not. In fact, the persons administering the test should also not know which is which, but should identify the horns by an unrelated code that is resolved into the frozen and unfrozen samples after the testing by different people. This eliminates potential bias. Then, you run statistical analysis on the ratings and show that the sample of frozen horns has a significantly different rating than the sample of unfrozen horns. By "significantly different" I mean different enough not be attributable to chance, for which there are a number of tests that are the stuff of life to statisticians.