Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Should I use CC for Band?

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Tracy H. on July 16, 2001 at 17:18:21:

In Reply to: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Should I use CC for Band? posted by dp on July 16, 2001 at 11:37:34:

Bear with me, I'm only a HS student and I'm not quite sure where exactly this post would fit in, so I'm guessing and fitting it in here.

Ok here's my thoughts.
You get a good band from players playing together, listening to each other, respecting each other, and being good themselves. Being a "Family" as my director puts it.

As I'm friends with both sides of my band (dedicated people/not dedicated people)I can see how they think and how the actions of one person affect both sides.
When you get one person having permission to not do marching (this is not what SHOULD happen, but it's what does at my school) they:

a) lose respect of fellow band members. Think about it. How would you like it if you were standing out in the heat going back and forth on your free time while Bob Joe got to go home or practice indoors just because he's more dedicated than you? In a student's mind, that should be the reverse. Dedicated should be marching, not dedicated should not.

b) the student who doesn't march would miss out on a bunch of fun (I know it doesn't really seem like fun during it, but my friends and I felt really down when it was over and couldn't wait till next year.) This is where good friendships are made...sitting on busses for hours upon hours, making up traditions and playing out old ones...cheering for your team and poking fun at the other. You just have trouble realizing this till it's over sometimes. The non-dedicated group would try to get out of marching because it's hard work and it takes up to much time before they realize the fun of it.