Re: music notation software

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Bob Joles on March 30, 2001 at 21:07:32:

In Reply to: music notation software posted by John Breyer on March 30, 2001 at 14:02:58:

Okay, here's my two cents - I have been a professional copyist for over 20 years. Most of that time was spent here in the Hollywood studios. I have worked with pens, ink, straight edge and manuscript paper in the "good old days" and now use my Mac to copy everything I used to do by hand and then some. I've worked for some amazing composers and orchestrators and also worked with copyists who seemed to be copying with their feet instead of using their hand, but I digress.

In the studios, the conversion from hand copied music to computer generated parts has been an on going process of improvement in the available software. I am here to tell you that every music office uses a different program, so there is no true "standard" to make a judgement by.

I can tell you the programs that are being used on a daily basis and some of the pros and cons of these music software programs. I can also tell you that 90% of the copyists are using Macs to do their work with.

Finale is used by at least 3 offices that I know of. Encore is used in 2 offices and 2 other offices use Mosaic (the program I currently use). A couple of guys I know are experimenting with Sibelius to great effect. And there is still at least one office in town that still copies everything by hand with pen and ink.

Now, and this is MY opinion only, Encore is the weakest program of those I've mentioned. It's very easy to start producing music with but the software has many bugs and several major drawbacks that can be delt with if you have the time and knowledge to make workarounds or the ability to tweek the program its self with resedit. But the final product isn't all that wonderful to my eyes.