Re: Gross injustices

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by David on November 26, 2001 at 11:16:35:

In Reply to: Gross injustices posted by College Professor on November 25, 2001 at 19:48:02:

There were things about college that I would have changed and would still. I got a degree in Music Education in undergrad. and Tuba Performance in grad.

Nowhere in the undergraduate or graduate programs was I taught about marching band, fundraising (business classes), instrument repair, marketing, scheduling, how to write a good letter with good grammar and punctuation (remember creative writing?) or time management among many topics that would have been useful.

Still, I would not have changed the years I did go to school. I have wonderful friends from those years. I met the girl of my dreams, fell madly in love, and am still married to her after 29 years. I learned a great deal about the craft of being a musician, and learned how to be a better tuba player as well.

When the topic of gross injustices comes up, the good far outweighs the bad when I think of the college years. College, to me, was just a time to start thinking about what you wanted to do with the rest of your life. It let's you further the education that was started in high school and, hopefully, will continue the rest of your life.