Re: Re: Re: Re: Gross injustices

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Rick Denney on November 27, 2001 at 10:40:04:

In Reply to: Re: Re: Re: Gross injustices posted by Matt G on November 27, 2001 at 08:04:38:

Matt, you said that most people go to college with the expectation that the school has put together a concise program that should cover their future needs. That sounds reasonable, but in reality, it's not that simple.

The objective of college is not job training. The objective of college is to provide exposure to knowledge in those principles that don't get learned on the job. When will a practicing musician ever sit down and learn theory? When else will he have the opportunity to listen to a good record library to learn music history?

The same is true in engineering school, or in any other course of study. I studied a variety of topics that I almost never use in day-to-day professional work, but knowing all that stuff provides a foundation of general knowledge that makes it easier for me to learn what I need to know as I go.

There were no business classes in my engineering schooling, except for the same economics class that everyone gets. It is just as well they didn't teach it there: College professors aren't the best source of information about real business. I filled in the gap between knowing how to balance a checkbook and knowing how to run a business by apprenticing under business people on the job. That's how we get most job skills.