Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Verdi Requiem

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Long posting on December 01, 2002 at 02:36:19:

In Reply to: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Verdi Requiem posted by Chuck(G) on November 30, 2002 at 23:57:08:

Hi Chuck

I like your carpet covered roof very much, but it remains a mystery for me, how you get your instruments sticking to it. There also was a York tuba behaving like this a short while ago. I could not even make my dog hang onto the roof for even the shortest photo session.

As for the mouthpieces for older instruments:

They generally were much smaller than we use them today.

We talk a lot of pollution today. But we do not always realise, that one of the worst areas is that of sound.

Decades ago I studied literature theory at a decent level at the University of Copenhagen. French inspired structuralism was hip back then. One of the things I remember specifically about was how certain parameters have shifted over the ages. During the pre-gun-powder medieval centuries, the secular community had next to nothing of, what we call noise. Hence church bells were considered a sign of the divine, because they gave the community an aural experience, that transcended the normal.

Even my childhood 5 decades ago in small North German towns was much quieter, than is my present everyday life in a somewhat larger, but not large, Danish provincial town. I love to visit Copenhagen, but would not like to live there.

People today also tend to consider noise transcendent, but now in comparison to a decent level of human life. Hence it is no longer considered divine, but the opposite.

This might sound far out in a musical discussion, but it has a bearing there as well.