My Statement Regarding the NYP Posts....

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Anthony Mason on October 02, 2001 at 05:53:50:

To those of the tuba community and those several octaves higher:

I am a student at the Juilliard School here in NYC and have been under Mr. Deck's tutelage for nearly a month now. There are a few things that I would like to say on behalf of my instructor and those who know him or have known him before.

First of all, I have known the truth about Mr. Deck and his current situation for some time now. It had come up during a recent lesson and I learned so much from just listening to him speak so calmly about the whole ordeal. Second, NO I WILL NOT discuss ANY of the details concerning this whole thing, so please do not ask for me to clarify anything for you, because I won't do it. Third, I hadn't read any of the posts about the circulating rumors until tonight, the reason being that I heard some of the other tubists here referring to the never-ending onslaught of tales and gibberish last week. The immediate response I had while reading these was that I was completely speechless and a little hurt by that single rumor which sparked the whole thing. I couldn't believe that someone could have the nerve to say such a thing (whether it be true or not is irrelevent) about someone else's personal life ON A PUBLIC SERVER! I realize that the one who sent the post has taken full responsibility for his actions and has apologized profusely to anyone else besides me affected by this. I am happy to see that they have at least learned from this and will hopefully make better judgement in the future.