Re: OK, I did it - update

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Jay Bertolet on October 19, 2001 at 08:15:21:

In Reply to: OK, I did it - update posted by js on October 18, 2001 at 23:50:59:

Finally, something to really DISAGREE about! (rubbing hands greedily together)

Seriously, I've been fooling around with this style of mouthpiece for a few years now. I'm not familiar with Joe M's line of mouthpieces because I've never tried them before. Therefore, I can't comment on how they do or don't work. I can comment on how the Bach Megatone line works. In two words, it doesn't. In my opinion, the Bach has far too little added mass to make any difference. I did compare apples to apples in this case, ordering a Bach Megatone 18 and comparing that to my own regular Bach 18. Even enlisting other listeners, nobody could tell any difference in the sound. Comparing the R&S heavyweight mouthpieces was a completely different story. I compared the R&S heavyweight models to the original mouthpieces that they assert to be copies of (Conn-Helleberg & Schilke Helleberg II). In both cases there was a marked difference in the sound, a difference that was immediately noticable even to my physician wife. The next obvious step would be to compare the R&S heavyweight versions to the R&S regular counterparts.