Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: How much difference is there..........

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Dale Phelps on September 29, 2000 at 15:09:40:

In Reply to: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: How much difference is there.......... posted by FLAMES!!! on September 29, 2000 at 02:20:10:

Wow. I thought I got frenzied sometimes. I am a scientist. It is my profession, and apparently I am good enough that I get paid pretty well for it. Interestingly, most enterprise that I am aware of, you work first...then get paid after the work's done. That's the way it is for me, if I refused to work unless I were paid in advance, I wouldn't eat, plain and simple. (I guess it's a shame this basic aspect of MY life has to be so simple) I also play music, albeit VERY seldom for pay. I love playing, but I also love my job. I think that (unfortunately) this is where many of us who play music and those in the music trade differ. I think it's too bad that more people don't support performing arts - I know I do and many/most of the people I know who are "community players" pay far more in support of the performing arts than we could ever hope to get paid. For some reason we haven't yet learned that it's about the money...I think the guy who's happy with his job though really hits a nerve with remarks about your hall you play in (and his dig by mentioning his income.) Obviously he knew how to strike a nerve. Maybe that nerve needed to be tweaked though, because as a professional if you had unloaded that way on someone at your workplace ("the hall") you'd have a grievance (if management just blew it off) or worse (if they didn't.) At least here you enjoy the thin veil of anonymity. The lack of money in performing arts obviously makes life difficult for the majority of vocational musicians, it certainly sounds like it worries you more more than the living I am paid in my profession distracts me. For me I no longer have to worry about the bus