Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Making a living (and paying loans)

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Joe Baker on September 22, 2003 at 14:19:18:

In Reply to: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Making a living (and paying loans) posted by Sean Chisham on September 21, 2003 at 19:38:24:

I didn't perceive anyone was saying that those who take out loans are "less worthy". I don't think that was the point at all. I am in the midst of getting ulcers and high blood pressure to see that my children graduate from college debt-free NOT because I want them to be more worthy, but because I want them to be more free. Debt robs us of our freedom (believe me, after a recent six-month stint unemployed, I can say this with authority!)

My ideal vision for my kids is to graduate from college with just what I had when I graduated: enough cash to cover carfare and peanut-butter until the first paycheck arrives, a car that runs acceptably well, and no encumbrances of any kind. I can't imagine what it must be like to look at your student loan balance and your starting annual salary, and realize that the former is a couple of times the latter.

With that said, I absolutely believe that there is a 'right' time to use student loans. While I am resolved to pay for my children's college without putting them into debt, my wife -- who has just returned to school part time, and is married to a fellow who already makes a pretty good living -- may be able to graduate a year sooner if she takes out $12,000 or so in student loans and cuts back accordingly on her work schedule. She could repay that $12,000 twice in increased pay in the first year out of college (she'll be a nurse), and we will have had less stress in the meantime. Note the major factor: a PLAN to pay off the loan quickly, without degrading our overall finances.