Re: Just wondering...

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by tubatheorist on January 14, 2001 at 11:23:43:

In Reply to: Just wondering... posted by Carl L on January 14, 2001 at 10:08:33:

My practice routine, for what it's worth, usually begins about 6:30-7:00 AM. (When I can get into the music building!) If it's relevant, I am a grad student.
I try to get a physical workout (i.e. running, some days lifting) in anywhere between 4:30 and 5:30. After that workout, I feel more awake and ready to tackle my daily problems. The running stimulates my thinking, and gives me time to think about goals for the day, which I find to be an invaluable mental exercise. I know this isn't musically related, but the sense of accomplishment I gain through the physical workout carries over to my musical activity. This is important for me, because I tend to be a perfectionist, and am unfortunately very far from being anywhere near satisfied with any of my tuba-related skills. So I find the workout necessary to put me in a more positive mindset, as well as getting me thinking logically this early in the AM! (I think it helps breathing-wise too!)