Re: Re: Chicago York

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Rick Denney on January 16, 2001 at 13:16:56:

In Reply to: Re: Chicago York posted by Frederick J. Young on January 14, 2001 at 08:52:29:

I've been thinking about this post all weekend. Other responses speak from the perspective of musicians, but I'm also a scientist and engineer (and much better at both than I am at music) and can't help thinking from that perspective.

I'm confused. A fat bass trombone? What is there about a tuba like the York that resembles a fat bass trombone? The sound of a bass trombone is about as far from a wide-taper instrument like the York as any I can imagine. My little Yamaha F tuba can sound like a fat bass trombone if I want it to, but not a 6/4 contrabass.

My own understanding of metals and materials supports your statement that the materials are not the difference in the case of the York, unless it affected the design decisions made by the maker, such as using thicker metal to account for impurities and coarse grain. They are even less likely to make a difference in the case of a tuba than they are in the trumpets you studied.

I know a highly respected violin maker who laughs at the notion that Strads sound the way they do because of the age of the wood. He insists that Strads are special because of their design--particularly their inconsistencies (the f holes don't line up, and so on). He studied and trained in Cremona, and has measured a number of the real thing. His Strad copies are beautiful sounding, and command an enormous price (though not as much as a real Strad).

His life's work, and his greatest objective, is to make the 15th Stradivarius design. Stradivarius (and his apprentices) used 14 unique designs for violins during his career. My friend wants to learn enough about those 14 instruments so that he can take the next step.