Re: Re: Re: contrabass concerto?

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Jay Bertolet on July 02, 1999 at 08:33:49:

In Reply to: Re: Re: contrabass concerto? posted by Steve Marcus on July 01, 1999 at 22:45:06:

When I spoke to the composer, back in 1986 (I think) at the ITEC held at University of Texas at Austin, he told me his conception was for the piece to be played on a big tuba, either CC or BBb. Part of his rational for writing the piece, he said, was to give tuba players a piece that was specifically written for their main instrument. Now, this was a number of years ago and I haven't heard Sam's recording of the piece yet so I don't know if we're even talking about the same piece. When I saw the piece, only the first movement was finished so I have no knowledge about the other movements. Mr. Anderson was "shopping the piece around" trying to get players interested in his work. I really liked what I saw then and I told him so. I also told him that I'd be very interested in performing the piece when it was completed but we fell out of touch after the conference. I never heard from him again so I pretty much dropped it.