Re: Oscar Lagasse

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Eric Hult on June 20, 2001 at 22:18:33:

In Reply to: Oscar Lagasse posted by Karl K on June 20, 2001 at 12:49:19:

As far as I know, Mr. Lagasse is alive and well and living in Royal Oak Michigan. He is 97 or 98 years old! I studied with him from 1965 to 1972 and can share a little about him. He was my first mentor and the reason I pursued the tuba as a career even though it didn't work out. He played tuba in the Detroit Symphony for many years, from the 1940's, retiring in 1971. In addition to tuba, he was also a fine double bass player, studied the cello at Fountainbleau (spelling?) in France and was a fine furniture builder. In the 1950's when the Symphony folded he built furniture and sold it to J.L. Hudson's, the big department store in Detroit. He could look at a picture of a piece of antique furniture in a magazine and build the very same piece. I remember the time he built a doctor's chest with 100 drawers, all tongue and groove, very elegant, from a photo.