Re: Re: What should i do?!

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by TubaRay on January 08, 2004 at 21:09:33:

In Reply to: Re: What should i do?! posted by Jacob on January 08, 2004 at 20:09:20:

Jacob:

I have been reading this thread since you began it. I hadn't planned to comment, but I'm afraid I feel compelled to do so, now. I am a high school band director and went through the all-state tryout process when I was in high school, as well. I believe I have some knowledge on this subject. I work with coaches as a normal part of my job. There are some good ones and there are some duds. On of their favorite tactics is to play on a guy's masculinity. The phrase you used, "take it as a sign of weakness, wussy, and no commitment..." is just not being entirely fair with you. In your case, that isn't at all what it is about. If your coach knows what your situation is, he/she knows that it isn't about your being weak, or a wuss, or not committed. It is much more complex than that. You are, however, left largely to the will of the coach. I just feel you should know that if the coach does use the weak--wuss-commitment thing, he/she is not thinking of what is best for you, he/she is thinking about what is best for him/her.