I need a new tuba!

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Brad on April 01, 2003 at 21:09:48:

This is basically going to sound like a hard luck story, but, bare with me.

My high school is a Catholic high school, and, as such, we don't get all that wonderful taxpayer money to help pay our bills.

I'm a sophomore in high school, and I'm the only tubaist in the Wind Ensemble class, the most experienced and best players. I have been playing for a year now, as my band director got me into it without ever playing any kind of musical instrument before.

The 7 total tuba players play on a fleet (or should I say junkyard) of old Dynasty 845 3/4 size convertible tubas. There are currently four Dynasty tubas left in playing order, of a one time section of 8 of them, as one was rudely stolen by a player many years ago. We had to send three of them to the shop, two because the valves were broken, and one because the third valve tubing from the solder joints that hold it together at the third valve, fell off. I chose the tuba in the best condition of all, which is not very good, riddled with dents, sticky valves no matter how you try to fix them, and gnarled tubing all over. I don't even think the bell is straight anymore, with all of the dents and things. I have tried to fix it up as good as possible, and my band director knows, so he allows me to claim that tuba as my own, so the other tuba players, who think it's funny they are so shot, that they throw them around even more, don't get their hands on "mine." We can't get the other three tubas back for a very long time, because of one simple fact... the band is out of money for the year, and the principal won't give us any, he needs it all to buy new carpeting for the classrooms, and new computers after we got brand new ones the summer before I started there and just this past summer.