Please Indulge Me (***LONG***)

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ TubeNet BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Dave on November 21, 2001 at 15:24:11:

As a person on the way out of tuba playing, I thought it a good time to post some things I've been thinking about the past 10 years or so. I've been considering making a post like this for a while, but recent threads have kind of lit the fire. You can take this post for what it's worth: I'm a professional tuba vet of 16 years making a total change in my profession. I don't want to come across as a bridgeburner with a grudge, but I will speak my mind without fear of being blackballed, losing a gig or having to look over my shoulder in a community band out west after "Rocco" forgot to take his meds.

Thanks to Jim Rome, the sportsnut radiojock out of LA for this next inspired bit. I hope it will be taken in the fun in which it was conceived, but knowing some of you…

The tuba playing community is not unlike the recreational softball community. You know, the guys from the office that get drunk and play other drunk office guys a couple nights a week. There are 3 distinct classes of participants. You've got the Fat Old Guy, the Angry Middle-Aged Guy and the Dork.